OH, BOY(S).

I know you’ve heard it all; every horror story there could possibly be about a girl getting screwed over by a guy (or the other way around, but that’s not what I’m writing about).

As a guy, it can get hard to tell when you’re really tugging on a girl’s heart strings, I get it. But honestly, the level of obliviousness some guys in my life have reached is astounding.

Ladies, how many times have you heard a guy tell you, after WEEKS and MONTHS of leading you on, caring for you and getting to know you that he just isn’t the relationship type. WHAT AM I DOING HERE?

I know labels can be pretentious sometimes, but sometimes that’s exactly what you need to be reassured that it’s real. If I can’t call you mine, vice versa, are we really in this together?

Sure, flings are okay. Sometimes. I don’t know if that’s what you’re into, but no one wastes that much time out of their life to be in… whatever it is that you’re in, to be told that you’re really not going anywhere. Quite frankly, it sucks, and it makes you want to give up on relationships in general.

That is, if relationships ever started in the first place.

Why is it that we’ve entered some weird age where real relationships don’t even happen anymore? All I ever hear from my friends is “oh, we’re talking“. That type of situation has no substance and I’m tired of constantly being thrown into the “talking” phase with guys. It’s like an open door for them to come and go whenever they please – but heaven forbid I ever go and talk to another guy.

Because that’s what it comes down to, right? You’re allowed to do and see whoever you want but I for some reason have to be faithful.. to you? Interesting.

Wait, boys and girls, that’s not all! My favourite part is when a boy walks out of your life but then casually resurfaces once he sees you’re doing well off with another guy. Why do you feel threatened? I’m not even yours.

All in all, I really can’t complain. I mean, sure, girls are the spawn of satan. We can get clingy, jealous, emotional, irrational.. but wait. Isn’t that what happens to guys too? Shocking.

I’d just love it if for once in my life, the boy actually chose me.

In all honesty I never really believed in true love, or the idea of even being in real love until you’d fallen in and out of love a hundred times first. But I have had the misfortune of genuinely loving two guys in my life who never deserved my affection to begin with and it screwed with my head a little.

I have admittedly fallen victim to being that girl who turns insanely bitter towards the world (twice) because of how hurt I’ve been over a guy. It’s exhausting and I’ve realized my life does not revolve around how much a guy loves me, because the only person who will ever be able to love me as much as I deserve, is me.

I don’t know if I just have really poor taste in men or if I just have a “hurt me”, “waste my time” and “play with my heart” sign above my head.

Truly, it seems all you guys are good for is giving me endless headaches and making me question whether I even believe in love and want to find it in my life.

But jokes on you – I can rant about this topic all I want but you’ll never catch me crying over a boy again. 2017, who dis.

 

One thought on “OH, BOY(S).

Leave a Reply

