8 RELATABLE RETAIL STRUGGLES

If you are currently working in retail or previously have, you know that the industry can really get to you. Here’s some struggles we all unfortunately go through — but the best thing to remember is, you’re not in this alone.

  1. “WHY IS THE LINE GOING SO SLOWLY?”
    Well, if you didn’t have the audacity to come up to my register and complain to me for 5 minutes about how long you had to wait, I could have been clearing up this line much faster.
  2. CUSTOMERS THAT CLAIM NO ONE HELPED THEM
    So.. what was I doing with you for 15 minutes pulling sizes? You better be telling them my name at cash so I can get that sale.
  3. THE CUSTOMERS THAT FIGHT YOU OVER SALES
    I literally just work here for $12.50 an hour, does it look like I’m in charge of making the prices?
  4. “THE CUSTOMER’S ALWAYS RIGHT”
    Honestly, it’s 2017 — NO the customer is not always right. But I’m still going to plaster a smile on my face for you because I like my job too much to lose it over you.
  5. WHEN SOMEONE ASKS YOU FOR HELP JUST AFTER YOU CLOCKED OUT
    Out of this 10 hour day I only have an hour to sit down and breathe. Please, let me have my hour and don’t get mad at me for redirecting you to one of my other coworkers for assistance.

    IMG_2824.JPG
    The reason all the struggles are worth it – my coworkers #guessgang
  6. NEAR DEATH EXPERIENCES IN THE BACKROOM
    The amount of times I’ve almost fallen off the ladder at work trying to get something that’s too high up for me on the shelves has made me no longer fear death.
  7. SPENDING ALL YOUR MONEY IN THE SAME PLACE YOU EARNED IT
    I’d like to think I do a decent job at saving my money but when you work around clothing so much, everything starts to look nice after a while.
  8. TRYING TO CLEAN THE STORE AFTER HOLIDAY MADNESS
    Honestly, it’s like people think we’re having a liquidation sale and decide to trash the entire store. How do you people shop around this mess? I need answers.

And there you have it – I could keep this list going forever, but no one wants that. As much as I hate retail, there’s nothing quite like it.
(By the way, while I’ve got your attention: shop GUESS so you can rep my work!)

Leave a Reply

