HARRY POTTER SET TOUR

LONDON –

I was so lucky to get the amazing opportunity to see the set of one of the most highly acclaimed movie franchises in the world, HARRY POTTER. Growing up, my entire childhood revolved around Harry Potter.

img_3027
The outside of the studio in England | December 30, 2016

Being in the very spot where they filmed my favourite movies made me feel like the world of magic was real and I belonged in it. I even took a quick break in between to have a quick Butter Beer, feeding the idea in my head that I was truly a witch at Hogwarts.

img_3211
Trying to be artsy with my butter beer (also notice how I rep my work everywhere.. my Guess bag made it in to the pic)

The lobby where we had to wait to get in had portraits of all the main characters from the start of the movie as well as the end. The glo-up they all went through was unreal; it’s crazy how I never noticed it that much because they all changed so gradually in front of me.

img_3030
One side of the massive wall surrounding the hall, lined with character portraits.

 

After watching a short welcome video, the screen rolled up to the reveal the doors to … The Great Hall. As those doors opened, I swear my breath literally caught in my throat because it was so grand. It was exactly how I’d pictured it, I honestly wanted to cry.

img_3068
The Great Hall set up with food and flames; behind me was the professor’s table with costumes and best of all, the hourglasses measuring the points for each house.

I know it’s such a simple thing, but it never registered in my mind how they moved the staircases in the films. Seeing this made so much sense to me and I was so shocked that I’d never realized it before!

img_3079
The green pillars made it possible for the stairs to be green screened to give them the appearance of moving… oh, technology.

Some of my favourite props/sets were:

  • The door to The Chamber of Secrets: the detailing was incredibly intricate and because this had always been one of my favourite books in the series, seeing the door in real life had me spooked out.img_3142
  • Diagon Alley: nothing will EVER beat getting to stand in the alley where it all truly began.
    img_3240
    I liked the vibrancy of the installation of Weasley’s Wizarding Wheezes to the alley!

     

  • The Stairs to Dumbledore’s Office: when I was younger I always had dreams of what it would be like to get carried away in this door. Although I didn’t get to be whisked up to an office on the stairs, examining it in person was satisfying enough.
    img_3109
    Me awkwardly standing in front of the stairs to Dumbledore’s Office

     

  • Hogwarts Castle: I know it wasn’t supposed to be a whole actual castle (although a girl can wish) but the size of this was pretty decent. I took a good 30 minutes analyzing every detail from every angle of the castle and it was worth every second.
    img_3263
    Hogwarts – the school that I was truly meant to go to.

     

Before leaving the tour, I got the chance to ride an ACTUAL BROOMSTICK. Talk about the coolest set tour ever.

simbkxc7xjyg09vs3z84kr9hev7nstgi9h8s6a45f6ftlmzen
I don’t know why I paid 20 pounds for this photo, but I did.

Lastly, if you ever get the chance to go here, make sure to check out the gift shop on your way out! It has a lot of neat stuff and the whole shop on it’s own could be an attraction. I got a cool Gryffindor scarf and an embossed Slytherin journal to rep my two houses.

Did I convince you to blow all your savings to get to England and go on this tour? Buy your tickets here!

Leave a Reply

